Fiction Competition 2017 – Winners Announced

Congratulations to all our creative writers who entered incredible short stories for the 2017 Fiction Competition and a huge thank you to our wonderful judge, Iain Rowan

iain rowan

Iain Rowan – Shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger Award, the Bath Novel Award, and the Northern Writers Award, Iain is also the Creative Director for the Sunderland Festival of Creative Writing  and the adaptation screenplay of his short story  ‘Nowhere to Go’, is currently being filmed by the award-winning RGR Film Productions.

Iain’s books are available to buy via the infinity plus website – CLICK HERE


DONATION – Iain took a lot of time reading the short stories and writing thoughtful individual feedback for which we are extremely grateful. He has also very kindly asked for his judge’s fee to be donated to a local Womens Refuge and we are honoured to be passing on his payment to the Brecon branch in the New Year.  Thank you Iain.

Without further ado, here are the winners :-


1st Prize Winner – Jo Hill

2nd Prize Winner – Kerry Hodges

3rd Prize Winner – Jean o’Donoghue 



Fiction Competition 2017 Winners (l-r): Jo, Jean & Kerry 

As it’s the first day of 2018 we would like to wish everyone a very Happy New Year.
We hope the coming months bring incredible inspiration, opportunity, & writing success.

i am a writer



About thehaywriters

The Hay Writers : a highly active & forward thinking writing group based in Hay-on-Wye, the world famous 'Town of Books'. ✍️ In 2019 we celebrated our 40th anniversary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.