About Hay Writers’ Circle

About The Group:

Hay Writers’ Circle is a highly active and forward thinking writing group, meeting on the first and third Tuesday of the month between 2pm-4.30pm (April to September) and 1.30pm-4pm (October to March).

In 2019 we celebrated the group’s 40th birthday!

Three major competitions are held annually (The Frances Copping Memorial Prize for Fiction, The Richard Booth Prize for Non Fiction and Poetry Prize) with external guest judges. Past judges include Andrew O’Hagan, Fay Wentworth, Rachel Cooke, Lesley Saunders, Alex Josephy, Phil Carradice, Colin McDowell, Dan Davies, Oliver Bullough, Libby Houston, Iain Rowen and Paul Henry.

Advance your talent with writing workshops, short writing exercises, constructive criticism, lively discussion and opportunities to perform your work.

Although our current membership is full, we welcome all enquiries.


Don’t forget to subscribe to our quarterly newsletter.
Enter your email address in the box below.

1 Response to About Hay Writers’ Circle

  1. Hi Hay Writers – Hope the traumas of the past year have not affected you too badly. Keep writing, even if it feels damned hard!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.